Class of 84 — Part – 1

by peculiarblend


I missed this a lot but here we are again so hello to all my lovely readers;

Today I would like to tell you about my first Indian English play/drama that I saw at St. Andrews College Auditorium few months back. It is called ‘Class of 84′ written and directed by Rahul Da Cunha.

When I heard about it I instantly thought this is it. And like I have heard several times that life throws signs at you and all you got to do is just pick them. To my amazement when I searched about the play ‘Class of 84′ it already had many of my favorite play performers.

Cast of ‘Class of 84′:

Rajit Kapur, Shernaz Patel, Radhika Da Cunha, Zafar Karachiwala, Sohrab Ardeshir, Dipika Roy, Joy Sengupta, Rituuraj

Flashback:

Rajit Kapur: Now this gentleman has one National Film Award for Best Actor – for his outstanding performance in the 1996 film patriotic film ‘The Making of the Mahatma’ jointly produced by Indian – South African, directed by the movie maven Shyam Benegal, indeed no intro justifies his master-class so I’ll skip that bit.

Now trivia for those who haven’t had (I would proudly say) a privilege to experience the  inception of television by the Indian National Television Channel, (now let me stress a bit more about how awesome I feel while I tap my long bony fingers on my noisy, dusty, rusty keyboard, sadly not a typewriter, yes, I am a proud old school-er and what the heck, most of my friends can’t stop when I talk about those days) the ultimate source of joy and happiness, our one and only beloved Channel Doordarshan and later came the glory days of DD Metro, a little modern way of entertainment with the likes of classic comedies such as Dekh Bhai Dekh, Shriman Shrimati and I can go for day and days about it.

Sorry I drifted apart from the subject, nostalgia had engulfed me with memories and I was carried away but here I am again; talking about Rajit Kapur, playing Bengali version of the smart and elegant Sherlock Holmes as ‘Byomkesh Bakshi’ (or Byomkesh Baksi) one of the most prominent detective character created by a prodigious Bengali Mr. Sharadindu Bandyopadhyay , and did I mention (1996) ‘Byomkesh Bakshi’ was directed by Basu Chatterjee ?

Now thanks to modern technology I can In fact relive best of ‘Byomkesh Bakshi’ via youtube. I am promising myself that I shall revisit and cherish the innocence of television of those 80’s and 90’s. In Class of 84 Rajit Kapur plays as a popular film actor. His role is initially portrayed as funny, brave and a well-off settled actor with lots of connections but as the play moves further slowly suspense unfolds many myths and reveals heart wrenching facts.

Shernaz Patel: I honestly do not know much about Shernaz Patel. I was clueless until I saw her performance in ‘Class of 84′, and I was just dazzled by her energy on the stage. Indeed her role was such but somebody still has to do it as deftly as Shernaz Patel as executed brilliantly.

Fuzzy is just anything everything about Feng Shui and boys are weakness just like any other teenager, who loves the attention of the opposite sex.Fuzzy is good mix funny and irritatingly crazy with her random questions and blunders.

Trivia:

Now before I go on about her let me just inform my readers that Shernaz Patel is playing the role of a bubble, brave and naughty Parsi (girl) Bawi, (Bombay girl of early 1980s) named as Fuzzy.

….PS: Next part of this post is coming soon I promise It’s coming really soon…my sincere apologies to all readers. I love you all.